Light Leak Effect in Pixelmator


When I was looking at the pictures I saw this effect, I very wanted to make it and it’s my first try to make light leak effect in Pixelmator. I hope you’ll enjoy it!

Step 1

Open photo you want to make light leak effect. I’m using girl picture.

Step 2

Add a new layer, and in Gradient Toll choose Linear Type and fill this layer with soft yellow,      mild pink and soft purple, like in picture below.

Step 3

After that change Blending to Overlay, and Opacity to 30%. Now our making picture is more brighter.

Step 4

Add a new empty layer and take Rectangular Marquee Tool, then make two rectangular – one bigger and another smaller. The colors you can choose, I’m making with yellow and orange.

Step 5

Go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian and use 20.0px for the Radius.

Step 6

Now just change Blending to Screen and Opacity to 60%. After that add a new layer and make one more thin yellow rectangular on the orange rectangular.

Step 7

Go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur and use 8.0px for the Radius.

Step 8

Now just change Blending to Overlay and Opacity to 40%.

Final Result:

